Asian Track Cycling Championships: Indian athletes won 8 medals on the second day, Jyoti grabbed the gold

New Delhi. Indian cyclists continue to perform well in the Asian Track Cycling Championships 2022. India won a total of eight medals including one gold, three silver and four bronze on the second day of this prestigious tournament held at the Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium in the capital. Indian cyclists have so far won 18 medals in the 41st Senior, 28th Junior Asian Track and 10th Para Track Cycling Championships.

On the second day of the competition, final round matches were held in 12 categories in which four matches were held in para cycling event. India won one gold, one silver and one bronze medal in para cycling while senior and junior players won two silver and three bronze medals respectively. Track cyclist Mayuri Lute won the bronze medal in the 500m time trial event. Jyoti Gaderaya captured the gold.

Read also:Neeraj Chopra told his next plan after becoming champion in Qortan Games

Commonwealth Games: Neeraj Chopra to lead 37-member athletics team of India in Commonwealth Games

Mayuri Lute won bronze medal
This is Mayuri’s second bronze medal in two days and the first individual medal in the senior event. Moori clocked 36.481 seconds in the time trial and achieved a top speed of 49.340 kmph. India won the first medal of the day in the women’s junior category with Pooja Denol’s bronze medal in the individual pursuit. Pooja finished third with a timing of 2:31.277 seconds. During this, he broke his previous national record of two minutes 37.410 seconds.

Neeraj Kumar missed the gold medal
In the women’s junior category, Neeraj Kumar went down to Kazakhstan’s Maxim Tryshkin in the 2000m race event for the gold medal and had to settle for a silver medal. Senior men’s individual Pursuit category Vishwajit Singh won the bronze medal in the 4km race with a time of nine minutes. Vishwajeet overcame Malaysia’s Kiyat Chun Lim who took 10 minutes.

iso alben broke heart
Indian track cyclist Iso Alben, however, broke his heart and failed to win a medal in the men’s elite event. Meenakshi, another Indian star, also disappointed and finished fifth in the women’s elite individual pursuit category with a timing of 3:50.223 seconds.

Tags: Sports news

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.