India Announce 21-Member Squad For FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

India’s Under-17 women’s team head coach Thomas Dennerby on Wednesday announced a 21-member squad for the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2022, to be held from October 11. India is placed in Group A along with the US, Morocco and Brazil. In this, India’s first match is with America on 11 October, followed by Morocco on 14 October and Brazil on 17 October. All these three matches will be held at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar.

Monalisa Devi Moirangthem, Melody Chanu Keesham and Anjali Munda have been kept as goalkeepers in the team. Astam Oraon, Kajal, Naketa, Poornima Kumari, Varshika and Salki Devi Hemam have been kept as defenders.

FIH names India’s Sreejesh, Savita as Men’s and Women’s Goalkeepers of the Year

Babina Devi Lisham, Neetu Linda, Shailja and Shubhangi Singh have been selected for midfielders in the 21-member team. Anita Kumari, Linda Kom Sarto, Neha, Regiya Devi Laishram, Shelia Devi Loktongbam, Kajol Hubert D’Souza, Lavanya Upadhyay and Sudha Ankita Tirkey are included as forwards.

“It’s a new situation for everyone,” Dennerby said. India has never played a World Cup before. This is a completely different game. This is a different chance to show everyone that we have prepared thoroughly and we will not let anyone dominate us. Everyone wants to play the World Cup but I have picked the best 21 players in the team. When you are on the field everything is left behind and all you have to do is focus on the game. This is what these girls have to do.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.