T20 WC 2022 Defending Champions Never Defend Their Title In T20 World Cup History Read Full Story Here

Defending Champions in T20 World Cup: After New Zealand in the T20 World Cup 2022, England has confirmed its place in the semi-finals. England beat Sri Lanka by 4 wickets in Saturday’s do or die match to make it to the last-4 place of the World Cup. England became the second team after New Zealand to reach the semi-finals. With England reaching the semi-finals, the defending T20 champions and this time the World Cup hosting Australian team have been out of the T20 World Cup.

With Australia out, the special record of the T20 World Cup has remained intact. Actually, the defending champion has never won the title for the second consecutive time in the World Cup of the shortest format of cricket. This time too this World Cup record remained and defending champion Australia is out after England’s victory from the World Cup.

Record held since 2007
The T20 World Cup started in 2007 from South Africa. There have been 7 T20 World Cups since that time. Out of which 6 different teams have won this title. But never has the defending champion won the title for the second time in a row. The eighth season of the T20 World Cup is being played in Australia this year.

West Indies is the only team in the history of T20 World Cup which has won this World Cup twice. He had won this title in the year 2012 and in the year 2016. Apart from West Indies, Team India became its champion in the year 2007 in the first edition of T20 World Cup. After that Pakistan in 2009, England in 2010, Sri Lanka in 2014, Australia in 2021 became its champion. Significantly, the Australian team is out of the T20 World Cup 2022 and it has not been able to save the crown of its defending champion.


Read also:

T20 WC 2022: England reached the semi-finals after New Zealand, know how both the teams have performed

T20 World Cup Point Table: England made it to the semi-finals by defeating Sri Lanka, see what changed in the points table

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.